Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Allen - English 101 - Fall 2019: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context, a Gale database

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

CQ Researcher

Provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Academic OneFile

More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.

Gale Ebooks, a Gale database

Gale EBooks

A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.

Subject Specific Databases

Your research question, your thesis, may touch on subjects or disciplines for which the WCC Harold L. Drimmer Library provides specialized sources

Consider connections with your primary focus with psychology. Often you will find useful ideas, arguments, perspectives by looking at a psychology database such as APA PsycArticles or APA PsycInfo or Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.

Are there business connections you want to pursue? Consider these specialized business databases: Business Insights Essentials or Business Source Complete or Entrepreneurial Studies Source or FirstResearch or Hoovers Premium.

Are you exploring issues relevant to the LGBTQIA community? Consider these specialized databases: GenderWatch or LGBT Studies with Full Text.

Are you investigating media? Are you investigating a television program or film? Consider using one of these databases: Communication & Mass Media Complete or Film and Television Literature with Full Text

Does your research touch on the environment and/or ecology? Consider these databases: Energy & Power Source or Environment Complete or GreenFILE.

Seeking information about religion or philosophy? Consider this database: Religion and Philosophy Collection.

Recommended Websites