Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the tips under the Search Strategy tab to develop a list of keywords to search. Do not type in whole sentences.
If you are off campus, you will need to log-in using your MyWCC username and password.
Full-text collection of American Psychological Association (APA) journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters, books, and other scholarly documents. Also includes links to full-text articles in PsycArticles - the APA journal collection.
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, a multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 journal titles.
Social Sciences Full Text
Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.
What is a Scholarly Article?
Popular vs Scholarly Sources
Video from the folks in the Kimbel Library at Coastal Carolina University explaining the difference between Popular and Scholarly sources.
Database Search Help
WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.) You may view a complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links on the left to search databases that are recommended for your Term Project.
Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.
Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, set your limiters using the limiter boxes below (use the dropdowns under this tab to see how to set your search parameters, view your results and save and send just the abstract or the entire article.)
How can I tell if something is a professional research article?
The WebMD article linked above uses language that tells you it is not the original study but discussing research someone else has conducted:
- "The findings suggests."
- "They're acknowledging that..."
- "The researchers said..."
- "The researchers found that..."
The study WebMD is discussing is a scholarly source, but the WebMD article itself is not. It is a secondary source - one that summarizes original research. The article includes some publishing information about the original study that will help you find the research article.
From the WebMD article:
Use the information provided as search terms to find for the original study: Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, November 3, 2014, Wig, brain and memory. This is available online (I can use the Journal Finder to see if it is available in a library database).
*There is nothing 'wrong' with the WebMD article, it is just not appropriate for this course.
Note the language in the research study that informs you that it is original research:
- "We describe..."
- "We characterize..."
- "We use...
- "We also observed..."
- "We focused on..."
These phrases show the reader that the authors of the article are the same ones who conducted the study and are presenting their original research. Original research articles are often referred to as Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed or Professional sources.