Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literary Criticism Sources
Gale EBooks includes handpicked e-reference works (encyclopedias, reference books, informational texts) on many subjects including literature.
Search the whole database or choose to search all of the literature titles.
Look for poetry and short story encyclopedias such as Poetry for Students or Short Stories for Students or American Poets and Poetry. You'll like what you find.
Look for books about groups of poets and/or short story writers in Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writers Online,
or books that focus on individual authors such as
Look for books that discuss the poetry of various ethnic and/or racial groups, or movements such as the individual books in the Critical Survey of Poetry.
Literature Resource Center
Biography, bibliography, and synopses of criticism of authors and their works, in all fields. Includes references and links to the original sources.
LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.