Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Ebooks about Graphic novels
Comics Through Time by Focusing especially on American comic books and graphic novels from the 1930s to the present, this massive four-volume work provides a colorful yet authoritative source on the entire history of the comics medium. * Provides historical context within individual entries that allows readers to grasp the significance of that entry as it relates to the broader history and evolution of comics * Includes coverage of international material to frame the subsets of American and British comics within a global context * Presents information that will appeal and be of use to general readers of comics and supply coverage detailed enough to be of significant value to scholars and teachers working in the field of comics
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Manga by Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Manga, provides in-depth insight for over 65 of the most popular manga graphic novels, ranging from metaseries to stand-alone books. A recent influx of translated Japanese manga into the American market has sparked a greater interest in foreign-language traditions and longform comics storytelling. this set focuses on translated works that have been particularly influential in the development of the manga tradition.
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme & Technique by The fourth set in the series, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme & Technique is a one-volume set that contains over 70 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels. It includes genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Critical Insights: The American Comic Book by The popular American comic book is considered in this volume of Critical Insights. From their creation in the 1930s to the widespread popularity of comic book heroes today, this literary form continues to delight and entertain readers. This volume offers a collection of original essays that will establish for students and their teachers an exemplary representation of American comics as a field of study within American literature.
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Heroes and Superheroes by The first title in this series, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes and Superheroes, provides in-depth insight into over 130 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. Researchers will be familiar with the characters and stories included in this collection, but will gain a deeper new understanding, as the literary nature of the stories is presented in critical format by leading writers in the field of study.
Publication Date: 2012-04-01