Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scientific, Historical and Art Books
The following books have exquisite art work depicting plants. Although not all of the plant life is specific to Northeastern America, students may find them enjoyable simply for the stunning illustrations and photography. Some volumes contain documents that recorded the histories of expeditions and voyages of discovery that introduced non-native plants and animals to a wide audience of people with an increasing scientific interest in the natural world.
Explorers’ botanical notebook : in the footsteps of Theophrastus, Marco Polo, Linnaeus, Flinders, Darwin, Speke and Hooker / text, Florence Thinard ; photographs, Yannick Fourie
Call Number: New Book Collection, 1st Floor QK26 .T5513 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Traces the journeys of more than 80 pioneering botanists who explored the unknown world and collected thousands of unusual plants. Each spread in the book describes the journey and the naturalist, with a map tracing the routes taken. Includes 80 maps, 150 photographs, drawings and engravings, complete with notes, seeds, pollen, and identifying documents, often in the botanist's own hand.
Amazing rare things: The art of natural history in the age of discovery / by David Attenborough . . . [et al.]
Call Number: Reserve Collection, Circ Desk QH46.5.A88 2007/CIRC DESK
Publication Date: 2007
From the fifteenth century onwards, as European explorers sailed forth on grand voyages of discovery, their encounters with exotic plants and animals fanned intense scientific interest. Scholars began to examine nature with fresh eyes, and pioneering artists transformed the way nature was seen and understood. In Amazing Rare Things, renowned naturalist and documentary-maker David Attenborough joins with expert colleagues to explore how artists portrayed the natural world during this era of burgeoning scientific interest. The book focuses on an exquisite selection of natural history drawings and watercolors by Leonardo da Vinci, Alexander Marshal, Maria Sibylla Merian, and Mark Catesby, and from the collection of Cassiano dal Pozzo--works all held in the Royal Library at Windsor Castle. Attenborough and his coauthors offer lucid commentary on topics ranging from the 30,000-year history of human drawings of the natural world, to Leonardo’s fascination with natural processes, to Catesby’s groundbreaking studies that introduced Europeans to the plants and animals of North America. With 160 full color illustrations, this beautiful book will appeal to readers with interests that extend from art and science to history and nature.
Botanical riches : stories of botanical exploration / Richard Aitken
Call Number: Circulating Collection QK5 .A38 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Part I. Plants of the ancient and classical worlds: from the dawn of time to the 1450s -- Part II. The great age of maritime exploration: from the 1450s to the 1750s -- Part III. Scientific imperialism and exotic botany -- Part IV. Living fossils: the 1900s and beyond.
Flora illustrata : great works from the LuEsther T. Mertz Library of the New York Botanical Garden / edited by Susan M. Fraser and Vanessa Bezemer Sellers ; foreword by Gregory Long
Call Number: Circulating Collection QK98.3 .N48 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden holds many of the most beautiful botanical and horticultural works ever created. The materials in this volume are diverse, and reflect the creative efforts of eminent explorers, scientists, artists, publishers, and print makers. Included are selections from rare books, botanical artworks, handwritten manuscripts, Renaissance herbals, nursery catalogs, and explorers' notebooks.
The art of botanical illustration / Wilfrid Blunt and William T. Stearn
Call Number: Circulating Collection QK98.2 .B58 2015
Publication Date: 2015
A comprehensive, critical, illustrated survey of the portrayal of plants through more than three thousand years. Includes 126 colour plates and 140 black and white illustrations provide numerous examples of the work of great botanical illustrators past and present.
Vanishing flora : endangered plants around the world / text & illustrations by Dugald Stermer
Call Number: Circulating Collection QK86.A1 S75 1995
Publication Date: 1995
A collection of over 80 detailed full-page watercolors and sketches of global plant species that may shortly become extinct. Includes brief descriptions of the plants including the location of their remaining sites. An appendix lists organizations that actively work to protect endangered flora.
Ehret, flower painter extraordinary / Gerta Calmann.
Call Number: Circulating Collection QK31 .E33 C3
Publication Date: 1977
Ehert, one of the foremost botanical illustrator of eighteenth century Europe, combined art with botanical exactitude in his drawings and watercolors. He recorded exotic plants introduced from America, the Near East and tropical countries, supplying a reliable source for the history of botany. This volume contains unpublished watercolors and colored engravings.