Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Influential "Starter" Sources for Your Research
Locate an influential source. This source may become just a starting place or it may become a major resource for you. Some ways to locate influential sources include:
- If you get stuck, you can also ask your teacher or a librarian, who might know of recent research, controversies, or the name of an expert/ organization studying this issue.
- Note that experts may be authors OR they may be people referenced or interviewed in articles you find.
- Learn to look for clues and breadcrumbs to further, more in-depth research!
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.
A nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED's agenda is to "make great ideas accessible and spark conversation."
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.