Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are a selection of websites that may be of use when writing your term paper.
When using online sources, but sure to apply recommended evaluation criteria before using any information in your research paper.
Our Presidents (The Whitehouse)
Brief bios about each U.S. President. Official Whitehouse website.
Presidental Libraries (The National Archives)
List of those U.S. Presidents who have their own Presidential Library. Resources vary by collection but may contain helpful information on your topic. Look for a link about research or online collections.
Presidential Speech Archive (University of Virginia)
Organized by the Miller Center at UVa, contains transcripts of the most important presidential speeches. Browse by President or Topic. Check under "U.S. Presidents" for general information about your president and his term in office.
The American Presidency Project (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara)
Search under "Document Archives" below. Contains over 100,000 documents from State of the Union addresses to Presidential Proclamations to Fireside chats.
Presidential Rhetoric - Historic Speeches
Contains a small selection of historic speeches. Collected by Communications faculty at Vanderbuilt University and Baylor University. Also check under "Presidents" for links to other sites.
Presidents of The United States (Library of Congress)
The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a large selection of primary source materials associated with the presidents of the United States, including manuscripts, letters, broadsides, government documents, prints, photographs, sheet music, sound recordings, and films.
The presidential resource guides compile digital materials that are available throughout the Library’s Web site. In addition, each resource guide provides links to external Web sites and a bibliography containing selected works.
"Teddy Roosevelt at Roosevelt Ariz." by Walter Lubken. 13 April 1911. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division. PRES File LC-USZ62-5612.