Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westchester Community College Books Catalog
Visit the WCC Library Homepage and select the “BOOKS-MEDIA” Tab to locate works by an author.
This search engine gives LOCATIONS to books, mostly hard copy books on the library shelf on campus.
Library of Congress Call Numbers for American Literature:
Mt Vernon Library Catalog (Westchester Library System)
Visit the Mt. Vernon Public Library Website to search for Literature by Author.
Search by Author and refine by format. You may be able to locate a Kindle/EBook or Audio Book by your author.
Public Libraries employ the Dewey Decimal System of Organization.
Find Original Works on the Web
Poems by Langston Hughes
Poets.org is valuable both for original Works, lists of complete published works, and for Biographical Information on poets.
For works that are in the "public domain". (Hemingway, Hughes)
Selected Original Works in Databases
LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.