Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literary Criticism Databases
To find book chapters and peer-reviewed journal articles of literary criticism on your author or work, consult the following database.
is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
MLA International Bibliography
Access to the Modern Language Association's index of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in economics, literature, history, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
EBSCO. Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more. Indexing and abstracts, and access to over 1400 full text journals. Coverage dating back to 1900.
Finding Articles in Related Disciplines
The databases below may also lead you to useful articles for your research.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Film and Television Literature with Full Text
Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provides indexing and abstracts for 370 publications (and selected coverage for over 250), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books. Includes Variety reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV archive.
A full text database of publications that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; with archival material dating back to 1970.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers world history from the 15th century forward. For history of the United States and Canada, use America History and Life.