Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discuss the relationship between motivation and emotion. How do these concepts influence each other? What misconceptions do we have about how important or influential emotions are in our decision making?
Research and Writing Process
||Build basics/foundations for your paper. What are the building blocks? Consider starting by defining your critical ideas: motivation and emotions. Do I mean a dictionary definition? Not really.
Find an article or section in a reference book or ebook that discusses the critical ideas. Read about motivation and emotions - being sure to go beyond what your textbook says. Your goal is to understand each of these ideas well enough to compare and contrast them, to discuss them as they might be related or interrelated.
Begin thinking about your thesis. What claim might you be able to make about the links between motivation and emotions? Remember this is a working thesis that you can revise again and again until your paper is finalized.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a great place to find foundation articles about psychology topics.
||Next find articles in magazines and/or journals that expand upon what you have already learned. Are there statistics, surveys, examples, or case studies that might provide you with details to support your thesis? Are there authors who agree with you and the claim you are making in your thesis? Are there authors who other perspectives?
Recommended Library Databases
Online access to many of the journals published by Elsevier science publishing. Subject coverage includes the natural and social sciences.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
MEDLINE with Full-text
Provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Full-text collection of American Psychological Association (APA) journals.
Psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters, books, and other scholarly documents. Also includes links to full-text articles in PsycArticles - the APA journal collection.