Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choose one human sense and compare it to that of another animal. How do we compare? Are there abilities that other animals have that we do not (or vice versa)? (Excluded animals are cats and dogs – get creative!)
In other words.... Compare an animal with a human.
Learn about the sense organs and perception experience for humans. What are the structures and functions of the sense organs? the receptors? How are the functions - the sensory processing experience - measured?
Learn about an animal or species. What are its sense organs? How do they function? How have they evolved? Adapted to the animal's environment? How is function measured?
Compare and contrast what you find.
Choose an animal
Choose an animal. Sounds simple but wait! Think about which animal or species is a good choice for this project. Be sure the animal (topic) is researchable. Is the information that you will need/want readily available? Will you find enough details - enough facts - to make a thorough and meaningful comparison?
Scout around. Do some preliminary exploring about a couple of animals. See what information is easy to find that works for this project. Then settle on your topic animal.
Where can you find some basic information about animals and their senses?
In Gale Virtual Reference Library, find these encyclopedias that specialize in information about animals, science, psychology, etc.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by
Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Serves as a major point of reference for students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more.
Online access to many of the journals published by Elsevier science publishing. Subject coverage includes the natural and social sciences.
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
Finding additional sources about your topic animal
Use Google Scholar to zero in on scholarly articles that discuss the sensory organs, receptors, range, processing of various animals. Be sure to focus on articles that are found in our WCC Library.