Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 109 - Speech Communication - Prof. Stephens Fall 2017: Background Research

Find Resources

Search Articles + Books/E-Books & Media in the library collection:

Advanced Search | Database Collections by SUBJECT | Database Collections A to Z

Search for Books/E-Books, DVDs, and Print Periodicals in the library collection:

Advanced Search | Library Account Login | ILLIAD/Interlibrary Loan | Other Libraries

Browse by name (e.g. Academic Search Complete):

 

Use this search box to determine whether a course textbook is available on reserve:

 

Advanced Search  |  What Is Textbook Reserves?

 
Search: Library Publications
Aerospace Sciences
Agriculture & Agribusiness
Anthropology
Applied Sciences
Architecture
Arts & Entertainment

Browse Periodicals by Discipline

Select a subject to view available guides:
 

Why Background Research?

Background research:

  • Is a great source of core knowledge on your topic
  • Can generate ideas on different ways to focus your topic
  • Can answer factual questions you've already posed
  • May help you clarify and/or expand research questions
  • Often points you towards other sources of information on your topic 

 

 

Sources for Background Research @ WCC

Do some background research on any topic that you are interested in using encyclopedias and websites. These will provide you with an overview of your topic, so that you gain a better understanding and can see what issues are related to it. 

Background research can also help you decide what way to focus your topic. For example, you might be interested in the subject of social media. If you look social media up in an encyclopedia it might talk about issues related to it such as privacy or bullying. You then might decide to focus on the topic of social media and privacy.

Reference books, like encyclopedias, are great resources to jump start your research. Use them when you want to read in-depth articles on a specific topic, get reliable background information, biographies, etc.

You can find subject encyclopedias for background information in the Library Catalog by searching the databases below:

Image result for arrow

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600