Skip to main content

Children's Literature - English 202 -Prof Collins: Finding articles on a genre, context or subject matter

Keywords to use to search for article on the genre or context of the story

If you can't find a work of literary criticism about your work you can use the databases below to find information about the genre of the work or the subject matter in the book. 

When searching for genre, you can search 'children's literature' 'juvenile fiction' or 'juvenile literature' along with keywords relating to the setting or themes of the story

 

Back ground information

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

A collection of encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects. Searchable as a group or individually.

 
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.

Databases for information on genre or context

JSTOR
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
 
Authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, including fine art and archeology, Classics, film, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
 
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
 
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
 

GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; with archival material dating back to 1970.

Ethnic News Watch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.