Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Criminology - Prof. Mitrione: Types of Journals

TRADE Journals

PROFESSIONAL/TRADE JOURNALS

  • print version ranges from plain to colorful
  • typically published weekly or monthly
  • contain ads related to the profession or trade
  • articles typically range from paragraph to 5 pages
  • current trends, issues, and news in the profession, 
  • articles typically written by a professional staff or guest writer, freelancer, or columnist; credentials and contact info sometimes provided
  • assumes reader's general knowledge of the profession/trade and its specific vocabulary
  • may include brief bibliographies or citations
    •  in an online database you may see this icon:
 

SCHOLARLY Journals

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

 

  • print version fairly plain
  • typically published no more than 4 times a year
  • may contain a few ads related to academia
  • articles are typically lengthy (15-20 pages)
  • an abstract (summary of the article) usually precedes the article
  • reports of original research, in-depth analysis of issues in the discipline, or in-depth book reviews
  • typically peer-reviewed (examined and approved by other experts in the field)
  • articles written by experts(typically, professors or researchers)
  • author's credentials (degree, title, affiliation) and contact information are typically provided
  • assumes reader's familiarity with the subject matter and knowledge of specific vocabulary
  • often includes tables, graphs and/or formulas
  • always includes footnotes/endnotes and a bibliography/references
  • in an online database you may see this icon:

POPULAR Journals/NEWS

POPULAR JOURNALS/NEWS

  • print version typically colorful
  • typically published weekly, bi-weekly or monthly
  • contain ads for various products
  • articles typically range from paragraph to 5 pages
  • current events and news
  • articles typically written by journalists or freelance writers
  • may or may not include author's name or initials
  • language easy to understand for general readers
  • typically no citations/references
  • in an online database you may see these icons:

In an online database, you see this icon: