Skip to main content

Prof. Margolis - English 101 - Legacy Paper - Spring 2016: Find Articles in a Database

Tips on Searching Databases

  1. Limit your results to Full-Text so the database only provides you with the full text and not just the citation.
  2. If you want to narrow your results look for suggested subject headings to limit your results to that topic
  3. Before reading the whole text of the article browse the abstract.  The abstract is a short summary of the article and will help you decided if the article addresses your topic.   Some databases also supply subject terms.  These can be useful  keywords to search.  
  4. Email yourself a copy of the article (there should be an email button near the article) to ensure you have a copy of the article.  Any email address will work (it doesn't have to be your WCC email).  Emailing the article will also include a citation of the article you can use in your works cited page
  5. Keep in mind the type of source you are look at.  Databases commonly provide access to newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals.  

Database Search Help

WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.)  You may view complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links on the left to search databases that are recommended for your Term Project. 

Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.

Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, set your limiters using the limiter boxes below (use the dropdowns under this tab to see how to set your search parameters, view your results and save and send just the abstract or the entire article.)

Types of Periodicals in Databases

Types of periodicals found in databases along with their characteristics

Newspapers:  Written for general readers on a wide variety of topics.  Published daily.

Magazines: Also for current topics, written for general readers with no background in the subject.  Not as frequently published as newspapers but offer more detail.   

Academic Journals: Longer research reports by specialists, written for other specialists. Can be quite technical. (Also called Scholarly / Peer Reviewed / Professional Journals)

Recomended Databases

Use the tips under the Search Strategy tab to develop a list of keywords to search. Do not type in whole sentences.

If you are off campus, you will need to log-in using your MyWCC username and password.

To access the full list of wcc databases click our database link

  • Academic Search Complete
    EBSCO. A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
     
  • The New York Times 1980-present
    Proquest. Comprehensive digital coverage from 1980 to present is available for this internationally renowned U.S. newspaper. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
     
  • Academic OneFile      GALE. More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
     
  • JSTOR Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
     
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling
     
  • SocIndex  The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.