Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Ross-Norris - English 101 - Defining The American Dream: Recommended Databases

Defining the American Dream

Suggested Databases

More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
 
 
 
 
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.

 

Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
 
 
 
 
A collection of encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects. Searchable as a group or individually.
 
 
 
Biography, bibliography, and synopses of criticism of authors and their works, in all fields. Includes references and links to the original sources.
 
 
 
Contains approx. 35,000 critical analyses of individual works of literature, 6,500 biographical records, more than 1,000 images, and a glossary of 1,310 literary terms.
 
 
Provides full text for nearly 1,950 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines.
 

 

Multi-Search

Multi Search is a tool that searches the library catalog (books and media collection), as well as a number of article databases simultaneously. Instead of doing dozens of searches in different places, you only need to search once!

  1. Select the Multi-Search Tab on the library website website www.sunywcc.edu/library
  2. Type your keywords/phrase
  3. Click Search

 

Using Multi Search, you can find:
 * Call numbers (locations) for Print Books and DVDs

 * Full-Text E-Books

 * Full-Text Reference articles

 * Full Text news and magazine articles

 * Trade publications and special reports

 * Images of works of art and historical photographs

 * Links to Streaming Videos