Skip to main content

Prof. Margolis - English 102 - Charlotte Delbo’s “Departure and Return” in Convoy to Auschwitz: Background Information

Background Information on Literature

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library has a collection of works on literature.    You can type your keyword(s) in the search box on the right hand side to search all the works at once

Literary Devices

Literary Devices   is a website that gives information on different literary devices.  Each entry consists of a definition and examples of each device.  

Background information on all topics

Credo Reference
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
 
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

A collection of encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects. Searchable as a group or individually.

CQ Researcher  

Provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Opposing Viewpoints

 

 

Databases and online resouces to help focus your research question

The following databases are excellent places to browse for a topic and begin your research. Log-in when off campus using your MyWCC username and password. 

In Room for Debate, The Times invites knowledgeable outside contributors to discuss news events and other timely issues. Reader comments are moderated Monday through Friday.

Provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.