Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using research databases is a great way of gathering research, especially scholarly articles. Scholarly articles are good to use because they go into greater depth about a particular issue or topic, are published more frequently than other materials like books, and usually provide a list of sources at the end of the article that can lead you to related research.
Here are a few useful databases for an argumentative-style essay:
Academic Search Complete
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Authoritative, full-text database for education scholarship, covers topics from early childhood education to parent-teacher relations.
A bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations on education topics going back to 1966.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides news and information services of interest to faculty, administrators and students in the field of higher education. Access to every news article and essay since 1989 and every daily web-only news story since May 1998.
Editorials offer reasoned opinions on current controversial topics. You can search Academic Search Premier or LexisNexis for editorials.
Searching for Point of View
It can be tricky to find articles that support a certain point of view. Try one or more of these methods when searching Library databases:
- Try a search term that has a point of view embedded in it (“right to die,” “pro-choice,” etc.).
- Some databases let you limit your search to editorials, opinion essays, or commentaries, from the Advanced Search page.
- Add a search term such as debate, controversy, controversial, pro, proponent, support, benefit, opponent, opposition, con, counter, ban, negative, ethical, ethics, moral, rights, etc
Finding Pro/Con Arguments
Guide to Finding Pro/Con Arguments
Analyzing pro and con arguments forces readers to confront multiple points of view. This enables readers to consider more facets of an issue and to develop a better understanding of the issue.