Skip to main content

COMM 109 - Speech Communication - Snider: Citing and Plagiarism

A guide for students in Prof. Snider's COMM 109 class gather resources for their persuasive speech.

MLA8 Citation Examples

You are responsible for the accuracy of citations on your Works Cited page. Double check database names, capitalization and formatting when you copy + paste citations. *Currently some databases on the EBSCO platform are not adding the correct database names, EBSCO is NOT the name of a database. The database name appears over the search boxes.

Online sources: Include the URL (minus http://) OR the DOI number if given.

Article in a library database:

Guilmette, Thomas J., Laurie A. Malia, and Michael D. McQuiggan. "Concussion understanding and management among New England high school football coaches." Brain Injury, vol. 21 no. 10, 2007, pp. 1039-1047. Academic Search Complete, lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2061/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=26705688&site=ehost-live. 

In-Text Citation: (Guilmette, Malia and McQuiggan 1045)


Article on a website:

"Public Agrees on Obesity's Impact, Not Government's Role." Pew Research Center, 12 Nov. 2013, www.people-press.org/2013/11/12/public-agrees-on-obesitys-impact-not-governments-role/. Accessed 20 March 2017.

In-Text Citation: ("Obesity's Impact")


Print Book: 

Ronson, Jon. So You've Been Publicly Shamed. Riverhead Books, 2015.

In-Text Citation: (Ronson 62)


Electronic Book in a library database:

Ricke, LaCrystal D. The Impact of Youtube on U.S. Politics. Lexington Books, 2014. ebrary, lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2909/lib/sunywcc-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1809830.

In-Text Citation: (Ricke 67)


Video Source:

Particlefever. Directed by Mark A. Levinson, produced by Mark A. Levinson, Andrea Miller, Carla Solomon and  David E. Kaplan, Ro*Co Films Educational, 2014.

In-Text Citation: (Levinson, Particlefever)


Statistical Table:

U.S. Census Bureau. "HI:01: Health Insurance Coverage Status and Type of Status by Selected Characteristics, 2015." Current Population Surveys for Health Insurance Coverage, 25 August 2016. www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/income-poverty/cps-hi/hi-01.html. Accessed 20 March 2017.

In-Text Citation: ("Current Population Survey" Table 7)


Image from the Web:

Lastname, Firstname. "Title." Website name, day month year of publication, ULR (minus http://). Accessed day month year.

 

Additional help on citing online sources

If you are unsure of how to cite your resource,  ask a librarian for help. See the help tab for library hours and contact information.

Avoid Plagiarism

Plagiarism occurs when you use another person's verbal or written words or text in your own work without appropriately documenting the source of the borrowed words or text. The borrowed text could come from a variety of places, such as a book, a newspaper, a magazine, a website, or even another student's paper.

The WCC Student Code of Conduct: states:

A. Academic Dishonesty

Engaging in academic dishonesty in any form with respect to examinations, course assignments, research projects, grades, and/or academic records is prohibited, including, but not limited to the following:

  1. Cheating - using or attempting to use unauthorized materials, information or study aids in any academic assignment. Examples of cheating are: looking on someone else’s paper; using any kind of “cheat” sheet or other enhancement during a test; allowing someone else to take an exam in your place; submitting the same work more than once for credit; using someone else’s homework or lab assignments; collaborating with another student on any assignment or take-home test if told that collaboration was not allowed; assisting another student in committing an act of academic dishonesty by allowing another student to copy homework or an exam; taking an exam for someone else; or giving test information to students in other sections of the same class.
  2. Falsification - intentional and unauthorized falsification or invention of any information or citation in an academic assignment. Examples of falsification are: making up data on an assignment; making up a source to cite in a paper; altering then resubmitting returned academic work; giving false information to a faculty or staff member to increase one’s grade; or attempting to change, actually changing, altering grades or any other unauthorized tampering with grades.
  3. Plagiarism - deliberate and knowing use of someone else’s work or ideas as one’s own. Examples of plagiarism are: quoting a source verbatim, or paraphrasing text from a given source, without properly citing the source; turning in a research paper that was written by someone else; or in any other way passing off someone else’s work as one’s own; or failing to give credit for ideas or materials taken from someone else.

 

Note:  The guidelines that define plagiarism also apply to information secured on internet websites.  Internet references must specify precisely where the information was obtained and where it can be found.

You may think that citing another author’s work will lower your grade.  In some unusual cases this may be true, if your instructor has indicated that you must write your paper without reading additional material.  But in fact, as you progress in your studies, you will be expected to show that you are familiar with important work in your field and can use this work to further your thinking.  Your professors write this kind of paper all the time.  The key to avoiding plagiarism is that you show clearly where your own thinking ends and someone else’s begins.

 

No matter where the text comes from, it must be documented accurately. Accurate documentation means that you must follow the MLA (Modern Language Association) or APA (American Psychological Association) rules for documentation.

WCC Writing Center

While the librarians can help you find sources for your paper, visit the Writing Center (part of the Academic Support Center) for help with writing and organizing your paper.

Ask a Tutor: Writing and Tutoring help via email from WCC tutors

Net Tutor: Online help when WCC tutors are unavailable