Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WCCFT Scholarships : Citing Sources

This guide will help students find information about the WCCFT Scholarship, research the essay topic and find help.

MLA8 Citation Examples

 

You are responsible for the accuracy of citations on your Works Cited page. Double check database names, capitalization and formatting when you copy + paste citations. *Currently some databases on the EBSCO platform are not adding the correct database names, EBSCO is NOT the name of a database. The database name appears over the search boxes.

Online sources: Include the URL (minus http://) or the DOI number if available.

 

Article in a library database:

Guilmette, Thomas J., Laurie A. Malia, and Michael D. McQuiggan. "Concussion understanding and management among New England high school football coaches." Brain Injury, vol. 21 no. 10, 2007, pp. 1039-1047. Academic Search Complete, lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2061/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=26705688&site=ehost-live. 

In-Text Citation: (Guilmette, Malia and McQuiggan 1045)


Article on a website:

"Public Agrees on Obesity's Impact, Not Government's Role." Pew Research Center, 12 Nov. 2013, www.people-press.org/2013/11/12/public-agrees-on-obesitys-impact-not-governments-role/. Accessed 20 March 2017.

In-Text Citation: ("Obesity's Impact")


Print Book: 

Ronson, Jon. So You've Been Publicly Shamed. Riverhead Books, 2015.

In-Text Citation: (Ronson 62)


Electronic Book in a library database:

Ricke, LaCrystal D. The Impact of Youtube on U.S. Politics. Lexington Books, 2014. ebrary, lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2909/lib/sunywcc-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1809830.

In-Text Citation: (Ricke 67)


Video Source:

Particlefever. Directed by Mark A. Levinson, produced by Mark A. Levinson, Andrea Miller, Carla Solomon and  David E. Kaplan, Ro*Co Films Educational, 2014.

In-Text Citation: (Levinson, Particlefever)


Statistical Table:

U.S. Census Bureau. "HI:01: Health Insurance Coverage Status and Type of Status by Selected Characteristics, 2015." Current Population Surveys for Health Insurance Coverage, 25 August 2016. www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/income-poverty/cps-hi/hi-01.html. Accessed 20 March 2017.

In-Text Citation: ("Current Population Survey" Table 7)

 

Additional help on citing online sources

If you are unsure of how to cite your resource,  ask a librarian for help. See the help tab for library hours and contact information.