Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WCCFT Scholarships : Find Articles

This guide will help students find information about the WCCFT Scholarship, research the essay topic and find help.

Find Articles in the Library Databases

Newspaper, magazine and journal articles can be found by using the library databases. Use your keywords in the search boxes, do not type full sentences. The full list of databases are available by clicking here. Databases especially helpful for this essay are found below.

Log in from off-campus using your myWCC user ID and password.

Database Tips

Many databases can tell you about articles which could be helpful for your research, but they don't have the rights to reproduce.

You can limit your search to only give you results with full-text: look for a full-text box and check it off. You can also limit to full text after you've run your search.

If you find an article that is not available full-text, go to Find Periodicals (at the bottom of the main database page) to find out if it is available in another database. Be sure to note what year your article is from.

You can request any article (or book) that is not found in our library through interlibrary loan. Fill out the ILL form (under "How do I?" on the main library page). Keep in mind that it will take time to borrow the material from another library.

Use the database toolbar to print, email and save your articles. Do not use your browser toolbar. Use the EMAIL link to save articles for later. Do not copy and paste the URL from your browser to find articles again, it will time out after your search session closes.

You will need to cite your sources in your essay. Many databases provide citations, but they are not in the correct format. If your citation doesn't note it is MLA 7th ed, it may not be correct. See the CITING SOURCES tab in this guide for information on formatting your source citations correctly.