Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Popular vs. Scholarly Articles
Limit Database Search Results
Research Databases for Social Sciences Journal Articles
WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty to use these databases. Click on the links below to search databases that are recommended for your assignment.
Search using the keywords, phrases and synonyms that describe your social issue.
Make sure that you click in the Full-Text box on each database homepage.
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Social Sciences Full Text
Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.
A full text database of publications that focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas; with archival material dating back to 1970.
LGBT Studies with Full Text
LGBT Life contains full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,and Transgendered journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.
Social Work Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides articles dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.