Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 109 - Speech Communication: Speeches

Great Speeches

  • TED talks - TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. 

  • SoJust Speeches Project - SoJust,is an ever-growing collection of historic speeches, songs, poetry, and essays on human rights and social justice.

  • Voices of Democracy : The U.S. Oratory Project - The Voices of Democracy project promotes the study of great speeches and debates in U.S. history. The emphasis of the project is on the actual words of those who have defined the country’s guiding principles, debated controversial social and political issues, and shaped the identity and character of the American people.


  • Presidential Speeches Archives - Most Important presidential speeches in American history. These speeches all have transcripts, and some are available in their entirety in audio or video.

More Speeches

You might also explore some sites that offer access to transcripts, audio, and/or videos of well-known speeches.

C-SPAN Video Library  - Digital archive of C-SPAN videos. You can search or browse its contents.

 
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches From Around the World  - Archives transcripts of speeches by women. You can browse the collection by the speaker's last name.

 Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project - Provides access to some of M.L. King's most influential speeches.

Social Justice Speeches Project - Brings together transcripts of some of the famous speeches from the 19th and 20th centuries.
 Speeches on Social Justice  - Includes speeches on civil rights, feminism and more.

Great Speeches Collection - Texts of speeches ranging as far back as the thirteenth century.

 Critical Past - Video Database of Historical and Current Video  - Search over 57,000 historic video and 7 million photos.
Try searching "speech" to see results.ry searching "speech" to see results.