Skip to main content

Hispanic Heritage Resources: Articles

This guide will help you find the most interesting and reliable books, articles, and websites about Hispanic Americans, their heritage, and their contributions to American life and society.

A Momentous First

 

On August 8, 2009, Sonia Sotomayor was sworn in as the first Hispanic and the third female to serve as a Justice of the United States Supreme Court.

"President Barack Obama [on] August 12 [2009] hosted Sotomayor, his first high court nominee, at a White House reception, where she made her first public remarks since joining the court. She said, 'It is this nation's faith in a more perfect union that allows a Puerto Rican girl from the Bonx to stand here now,' an event Obama called 'proof that in America the doors of opportunity must be open to all.'"

Source: Hernandez, Juan A. "Supreme Court: Sotomayor Sworn in as Associate Justice." Facts on File World News Digest, 13 Aug. 2009. World News Digest. Web. 23 Sept. 2010.

You can find articles about Justice Sotomayor's background and nomination to the Supreme Court in the Academic Search Complete database or in one of our other general or newspaper databases (see boxes at right) .

Find Articles in Recommended Databases

Through our library's databases, all members of the WCC community have electronic access to countless articles published in magazines, newspapers, and academic journals, including many Spanish language publications. To access our databases from off-campus, you must login. Instructions about logging in can can be found by clicking on the "Off Campus Access" tab above.

The following are some recommended databases in which to search for articles relevant to Hispanic heritage topics. Depending on your subject of interest, however, you may want to look at some of our other specialized databases (for example, for articles about Latino business ownership, you may want to search one of our business databases). We also have many general reference databases, databases of newspaper articles, etc. The box "Full Databases List" at the right of this page explains how to get to these other databases.

Print Magazines

The WCC Library subscribles to the following periodicals in print format. Current and past issues may be requested and borrowed at the Library's Circulation Desk:

  • Hispanic Magazine: The library has issues from 1995 through mid-2010, when it merged with Poder (see below).
  • Poder Hispanic: A merger of Hispanic and Poder, beginning with the August/September 2010 issue.
  • The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education: The library has issues from 2005 to the present.

Full Databases List

Our library has many more databases than are listed on this page. Depending on your topic, one of these other databases may be helpful in your research.

To find the full selection of databases, go to the library's homepage. On the top of the page you will see a gold bar that begins with the word "Search>>". Click on the Databases-Articles link. If you are working from off campus, you will have to log in, as described under the Work off campus tab.

You can also click on the following, for a list of our databases from A to Z.

Databases A to Z