Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Commerce Department provides several option for searching business and economic data.
Department of Commerce
This is a link to the main page.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The National Technical Information Service provides access to bibliographic descriptions of more than 2,165,400 unrestricted technical reports from U.S. and non-U.S. government.
STAT-USA is made up of three main components: GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities)and NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) [international trade statistics and market reports] and State of the Nation, that provides US Economic data.
Marketing/Competitive Strategy (Databases)
RAB Instant Background - Instant Background gives complete business summaries for over 160 distinct product and service categories. Excellent source for demographic and marketing information.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - This database of specialized reference sources includes fully-searchable business reference works, including The Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns.
Business Insights Essentials - Search by COMPANY NAME and keywords and phrases such as market*, demographic*, target market*
Market Share Reporter - Compilation of market share reports. Includes graphs, charts. LOCATION - ON RESERVE at Circulation Desk.
Census and BLS - Government Websites
The links below are from either the Bureau of Labor Statistics or the Census Bureau.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Statistics found here include employment and unemployment rates, and consumer price index, wholesaler price index and producer price index, consumer expenditure, labor productivity and much more.
Consumer Expenditure Survey Home Page
Produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this includes information from quarterly and annual surveys.
Census Bureau Home Page
The U.S. Census Bureau is a major source of statistical information. It is one of the plasce that market research firms get their data. "Subjects A-Z" is a good place to start.
Current Industrial Reports
Production and shipment reports for manufacturing industries. Not all industries are included and some information is only available as annual data.
Released every five years, these reports provide a glimpse of industrial activity.