Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selecting a Topic - Resources
- CQ Researcher - Provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - A collection of encyclopedias and handbooks on many subjects. Searchable as a group or individually.
On The Web
ProCon.org - Provides resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We research issues that are controversial and important, and we present them in a balanced, comprehensive, straightforward, transparent, and primarily pro-con format at no charge.
Selecting a Topic
CAN'T THINK OF A TOPIC?
Sometimes thinking of a topic can be the hardest part of the research process. If you are stuck for a topic,look at the tips section below and try browsing available resources listed to the right.
Here are some basic tips for selecting a topic for any research paper.
- Choose a topic that interests you. If it's something you like, you'll enjoy it.
- Make sure that your topic is not so broad that you are overwhelmed with information.
- Make sure that your topic is not so narrow that you can't find enough information.
- Limit your topic to a time period if necessary. For example, 2, 5 or 10 years.
- Limit your topic to a geographical area if necessary. For example, the United States or Kentucky or Louisville.
- Consider how much information you need. For example, your professor may require 3 scholarly articles, 1 book, and 1 newspaper article. It's best to know what you need before you even start looking.
- Start your research early to eliminate stress and anxiety.