Skip to main content

HSERV 101 - Introduction to Human Services - Garnet/Rodriguez: Where to Look?

Find Resources

Search Articles + Books/E-Books & Media in the library collection:

Advanced Search | Database Collections by SUBJECT | Database Collections A to Z

Search for Books/E-Books, DVDs, and Print Periodicals in the library collection:

Advanced Search | Library Account Login | ILLIAD/Interlibrary Loan | Other Libraries

Browse by name (e.g. Academic Search Complete):

 

Use this search box to determine whether a course textbook is available on reserve:

 

Advanced Search  |  What Is Textbook Reserves?

 
Search: Library Publications
Aerospace Sciences
Agriculture & Agribusiness
Anthropology
Applied Sciences
Architecture
Arts & Entertainment

Browse Periodicals by Discipline

Select a subject to view available guides:
 

Books

The content you will find in books, will range from the broad overview of the encyclopedia, to handbooks covering your field, to more focused studies on a topic or area. You may also find memoirs by people who have overcome adversity or works of philosophy on a particular subject. 

Who publishes?

Periodicals

WCC subscribes to dozens of print periodicals, including newspapers, magazines, and academic journals. Our electronic databases, which are organized by subject area will bring you thousands more articles and a variety of reports, transcripts, videos and more. 

 

The Internet

The Internet is helpful for gathering background information and for accessing breaking news, video, and other high profile information. The websites of newspapers like the New York Times are often more pleasing to browse online (keep in mind there is a limit to the viewing!).

The websites of government agencies and not-for-profit organizations also contain a wealth of information helpful to human services.