Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Packer - Eng 101 - Fall 2020: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context, a Gale database

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Academic OneFile

More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.

Gale Ebooks, a Gale database

Gale EBooks

A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.

Social Sciences Full Text

Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.

SocIndex

The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

Subject Specific Databases

Your research question, your thesis, may touch on subjects or disciplines for which the WCC Harold L. Drimmer Library provides specialized sources

Consider connections with your primary focus with psychology. Often you will find useful ideas, arguments, perspectives by looking at a psychology database such as APA PsycArticles or APA PsycInfo or Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.

Are there business connections you want to pursue? Consider these specialized business databases: Business Insights Essentials or Business Source Complete or Entrepreneurial Studies Source or FirstResearch or Hoovers Premium.

Are you exploring issues relevant to the LGBTQIA community? Consider these specialized databases: GenderWatch or LGBT Studies with Full Text.

Are you investigating media? Are you investigating a television program or film? Consider using one of these databases: Communication & Mass Media Complete or Film and Television Literature with Full Text

Does your research touch on the environment and/or ecology? Consider these databases: Energy & Power Source or Environment Complete or GreenFILE.

Seeking information about religion or philosophy? Consider this database: Religion and Philosophy Collection.

Recommended Databases: Search by Subject

Narrow your field of choices by Searching by Subject. If your topic is medical in nature, choose the medical/health/nutrition collection of databases. If you are researching a topic that is related to psychology or perhaps sociology (or another of the social sciences), choose the databases that specialize in these disciplines.

A-Z List

ALL SUBJECTS

General

Videos

Reference

Newspapers

Arts, Humanities

Business

Controversial Issues

Education

Health (General, Nursing & Allied)

Literature

Streaming Videos

Psychology

Science, Technology

Social Sciences

Multicultural & Gender Studies

Professional Resources

 

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600